Chicken Enchiladas with Green Enchilada Sauce

I started with a recipe for green enchilada sauce that I found at The Shrinking Kitchen, which appears to be a cool site that has a cool sister site.  Check it out.  Link at the bottom to the original recipe.  I decided when I made the stoneware roasted chicken to make enchiladas with the leftovers.
Leftovers is a great way to make it through the week when you are in pain or out of energy or your legs are soooo full of fluid that they are actually weeping enough to need towels on the floor.  They are even better when all three of these things are happening at once as it was this week.  After being on steroids for years my skin has gotten really thin so things like this happen too often.  I was moving a chair and the leg scratched my leg.  Not hard enough to tear my lovely compression stockings that I wear whenever I’m not in bed, but just enough to scratch the skin underneath.  It’s like my leg is crying.  That’s also why I am up to 36 fractures in 24 months.  My little sister who also has as an invisible illness told me about the spoon theory.  It is a wonderful way to help people actually understand what it is like to be sick, especially with illnesses that others can’t see.  I highly recommend that you read the entire article.  It has helped me a lot to be able to explain in a way that people understand.  When I say I am low on or out of spoons those close to me know that I am almost to the point that I can’t go on.   The link to the spoon theory is below.

http://www.butyoudontlooksick.com/wpress/articles/written-by-christine/the-spoon-theory/
Part of what makes this so easy is that the enchilada sauce and salsa can both be made and sitting in the fridge for a week or so. Last night I used Ree’s salsa to make Spanish rice. I just added a cup to the liquid. It was so quick. I try to do that type of thing whenever I can for when I have no energy.

On to the enchiladas.

I love Mexican food so have been trying new recipes.  I have found that ever since my cholesterol got high I crave salsas and other things with chiles, onions, tomatoes and whatever else naturally lowers your cholesterol.  My favorite is Ree Drumund’s Restaurant Style Salsa.   I just wish I had a psychedelic bird dish like she does (link at bottom).  Next I found a recipe for green enchilada sauce. When I saw the recipe and the comments I had to try it but as usual I also had to change it.  And it is so good I could eat it with a spoon, but chips would be great too.
Green Enchilada Sauce
Ingredients
1 T olive oil
1 medium sweet onion, finely diced
4 cloves garlic, grated
1 pound green tomatillos, husked, washed and sliced into quarters
2 to 3 jalapeno peppers, seeds and ribs removed (depending on how hot you like it!)
1 can chopped green chilies
1 large fairly mild pepper (poblano, banana, yellow bell), seeds removed and coarse chopped
juice of 1 lime (and I used the zest two)
handful of fresh cilantro
4 cups chicken stock
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon sea salt
freshly ground black pepper
Directions
1. Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a heavy bottomed saucepan over medium high heat. Add the onion and saute until soft, about 5 min. Add garlic for last min.
2. While the onions and garlic are working, throw the tomatillos, cilantro, jalapeno, poblano, green chilies and lime juice and zest into the blender.
3. Blend on high speed until smooth. If needed add T olive oil to get things moving.
4. Pour the tomatillo mixture in with the onions and garlic.
5. Add the chicken broth, cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper and whisk to combine.
6. Bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer. Allow to simmer on low heat for about an hour to thicken the sauce.
7. Blend with an immersion blender or throw the mixture back into the regular blender for a smoother sauce.
So the day after I made the stoneware roasted chicken I used the left overs for the enchiladas. I can’t find my pictures and it has been so long since I made them that I am just posting it anyway.

Chicken Enchiladas
4 large green onions, chopped
3 cups diced cooked chicken (1 breast, leg quarter, wings and whatever is left on bones – dinner leftovers from roast chicken)
2 cups packed grated cheeses (about 8 ounces) Mexican blend, sharp cheddar, Colby jack
1/2 8-ounce package light cream cheese, softened
½ to 1 can diced green chilies
15 8-inch-diameter corn tortillas
2 cups grated cheeses or whatever amount you prefer for topping
1 recipe of green enchilada sauce

Directions
1. In a non stick skillet on medium high heat, cook tortillas for 10 seconds on each side (to soften).
2. Spread enough of the enchilada sauce to cover the bottom of a 9X13 baking dish.  Mix green onions, chicken, grated and cream cheese and chilies in large bowl.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.
3. Spoon 1/4 cup filling down center of each tortilla.  Roll and arrange seam side down in prepared dish.
4. Spoon remaining enchilada sauce over enchiladas.  Sprinkle remaining cheese over top.
5. Bake at 350⁰ for 30 min or until cheese is bubbling and starting to brown.
6. Garnish with cilantro, if desired.
7. Serve with sour cream, green onions, black olives tomatoes and lettuce and whatever else strikes your fancy.
Enjoy! I sure did!

http://shrinkingkitchen.com/homemade-green-enchilada-sauce/

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/01/restaurant-style-salsa/

 

Leave a Reply

